Oklahoma Head-On Collisions Lawyer
Even with advanced safety technology inside your car, a frontal crash could leave you with catastrophic injuries. The airbag might have saved your life, but you could still sustain severe injuries such as head trauma, broken bones, organ damage and loss of limb. Fortunately, individuals may be eligible to recover compensation for their injuries and damages.
If you or a loved one were injured in a car crash due to the negligent actions of another, seek help from an Oklahoma City head-on collisions lawyer. They could work on your behalf to help protect your rights and interests. A skilled personal injury attorney could give you a better sense of the steps to filing a claim and how to recover compensation.
Steps Following a Car Crash
The first step of potential recovery for a victim is to speak with an attorney who could help to explain the importance of settlement offers, finding appropriate medical providers, and the benefits associated with filing a lawsuit.
After seeking medical treatment following a motor vehicle collision, individuals should speak to a diligent an Oklahoma City head-on collisions lawyer. They could use the plaintiff’s medical records, police report, and other supporting documentation to negotiate for a fair settlement. Settlement negotiations could occur at any time before filing and during court proceedings.
Deadline to File a Claim in Oklahoma City
According to Oklahoma Statutes Section 12-95, individuals have no more than two years from the date of the crash to bring a personal injury claim. Failing to file the claim within the statute of limitations could bar an individual from recovering compensation from the party responsible for the crash.
Liability Coverage for An Automobile Wreck
Oklahoma is an at-fault state. The state requires that every driver carry a minimum amount of liability coverage which compensates individuals for the harm that others might have suffered in an automobile accident. In Oklahoma, this includes:
- $25,000 for property damage for each accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident with two or more persons
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person.
A victim would only turn to their own auto insurance coverage if the other driver lacked liability insurance or was a hit and run driver and if the insurance company failed to cover all of the losses. To recover through these claims, a victim must show that the other driver was at fault or that the other driver had a greater degree of fault than the victim.
Establishing Fault for a Motor Vehicle Accident
The State of Oklahoma follows a modified comparative fault system. This means each party is responsible for their percentage of fault for an accident. If the plaintiff is 50 percent or less at fault for the incident, they may still be eligible to recover compensation. The plaintiff’s compensation award will be reduced by their percentage of fault for the crash.
When to Seek Out an Oklahoma Head on Collisions Attorney
After a crash, individuals may be suffering from emotional, physical and financial burdens. A knowledgeable Oklahoma head-on collisions lawyer could help individuals seek compensation for their damages and injuries. They can help with filing a claim, collecting evidence, and proving negligence in court.
Call today to learn about how a dedicated attorney could help your case.